black and blue

my 3 year old barbour bedale is one of my favorite possessions.  i haven’t seen or worn a jacket that comes anywhere close to it.  i’m headed to new york next week and it’s the only jacket i’m going to take with me.  my only problem with the bedale is that everyone loves the sage color.  i had dinner with some friends last weekend and 3 of us were wearing the exact same jacket.  this is not a new problem.  i mentioned nashville’s growing barbour population around this time last year (see this post).  i even tried to find an alternative, but i couldn’t find anything i like as much as my barbour.  so what’s a blogger to do?  i’ve decided to get another color.  i know i should probably abandon barbour all together and look for another brand, but i can’t.  i just can’t.  it’s my go-to coat.  i’m thinking about either the black or the navy.  which one do you think i should go with?

black

navy

    • Gary-A
    • February 1st, 2012

    I myself was in the Barbour outlet pre-christmas up in Kittery. Surrounded by Liddesdales at a ridiculous ~75% off, it was hard to pick JUST ONE (at the behest of my girlfriend, of course).

    Long story short, I went with the black, being a nice alternative to the navy and olive I see every once in a while.

    And yes, I’ve worn it with both blue and brown and it’s still managed to be versatile. I’m theorizing the waxiness and sheen of the black Bedale might edge the eye into the “not-quite-black” territory, if that’s what you’re worried about.

    • cooper
    • February 1st, 2012

    great feedback! thanks for the comment.

    • C. Stovepiper
    • February 1st, 2012

    i never even considered the green due to their ubiquity. go navy!

  1. My vote goes to black…

    • cooper
    • February 2nd, 2012

    2 for black and one for navy. hmm.

  2. I just discovered your blog and I love it. I know I’m late on this post but there’s a jacket company that is worth knowing about. Ten C. Also known as The Emperor’s New Clothes. I have the Snow Smock and it’s my go to jacket. My Beaufort is my #2 go to jacket.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

