watch upgrade

i don’t own a nice watch which is not something i’ve been too concerned about until recently. i’m not sure if it’s my age or my profession as a banker, but lately i’ve been noticing what other people have on their wrists. a friend of mine has an incredible watch collection and has been trying to talk me into a nicer timepiece since i graduated from college. my response to him has always been what i like to call the sunglasses excuse: i’ll just lose it. well, it’s been almost 10 years since i graduated from college and i haven’t lost a pair of sunglasses yet (knock on wood). it’s time for me to invest in a watch. starting may 1, i’m putting all most #menswear purchases aside to save for said watch. i’ve got my sights set on a rolex – either the submariner or air king with the blue dial. i figured i needed to go with a classic; although, price and availability will probably dictate my decision. i’m not really much of a saver, so this is going to be quite a challenge. #firstworldproblems

    • Drake
    • April 12th, 2012

    The worst sinking stomach pain I have ever felt was when the Mainspring on my rolex datejust broke. $800 to get it fixed. I ended up selling instead and now I cant bring myself to buy another knowing that the upkeep can be that expensive. Seiko for life.

    • Drake
    • April 12th, 2012

    But if you are going RLX get a sea dweller

    • cooper
    • April 12th, 2012

    Great point about the upkeep.

    • Steve
    • April 13th, 2012

    Love the blog. Will probably buy a 36mm Rolex Explorer in the next few years. My wrist is a little small for a Submariner and I just prefer the Explorer to the Air King. Keep up the good work.

    • Ian
    • April 26th, 2012

    If you have not looked at the Rolex Explorer (214270) yet I would recommend it. It looks almost identical to the Air King except for the fact that it is 39mm and has the classic mercedes hands. The explorer is a nice compromise between the Sub and the Air King; you get a good amount of the masculinity that the sub offers while also getting some of the elegance that the Air King displays.

    Up until 2010 you would have been able to buy a 36mm Explorer from an AD but now I would imagine you would have to go second hand if you were looking for the 36mm version.

    • Joe
    • May 19th, 2012

    I hate windup watches. I love my Omega with a quartz movement.

  1. Hey man, I love the Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean in comparison to the Rolex. Absolutely obsessed with it and getting one soon, fingers crossed.

    Cool blog by the way.

    Tom

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

